Picture of Founders Library Clocktower

Sitemap

grand piano graphic

Piano Renewal Initiative

Please consider supporting our Piano Renewal Initiative. If you have a high-quality piano in good condition that you are no longer using, or if you would like to purchase or contribute towards a new piano, please contact the Department of Music Office for more information regarding our specific needs.

Metropolitan Club donates Steinway M grand piano

Katz Foundation donates new Steinway recital piano

Leon Bates Masterclass and Mini-Concert officially launches Piano Renewal Initiative.

Photo of Geri Allen

 

 



CONTACT US


Department of Music Office:

Howard University Department of Music
Division of Fine Arts, College of Arts and Sciences
Lulu Vere Childers Hall
2455 Sixth Street NW Room 3004
Washington, DC 20059

(202) 806-7082 Telephone
(202) 806-9673 Fax

Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM


Chair:

Anthony W. Randolph awrandolph@howard.edu
202-806-7082

Administrative Assistant:

Shawn Hart shart@howard.edu
202-806-7082

Degree Program Coordinators

 

Theory and Composition:

Chinyerem Ohia cohia@howard.edu
202-806-7090

Jazz Studies - Instrumental:

Charlie Young, III cyoung@howard.edu
202-806-7872

Jazz Studies - Vocal:

Connaitre Miller conmiller@howard.edu
202-806-7097

Jazz Studies with Music Technology Emphasis:

Chris Royal groyal@howard.edu
202-806-7137

Music Education:

Benita Gladney  benita.gladney@howard.edu
202-806-7099

Music with Elective Studies in Business:

Valerie Eichelberger veichelberger@howard.edu
202-806-7095

Music History:

Matthew Franke matthew.franke@howard.edu
202-806-7088

Music Therapy:

Henrik Karlsson per.karlsson@howard.edu
202-806-7136

Performance - Instrumental:

Fred Irby, III firby@howard.edu
202-806-7066

Performance - Piano:

Karen Walwyn kwalwyn@howard.edu
202-806-7092

Performance - Voice:

Liana Valente liana.valente@howard.edu
202-806-7135

Supporting Area Coordinators

 

Graduate Studies:

Sais Kamalidiin skamalidiin@howard.edu
202-806-7093

Music Minors: 

Anthony Randolph awrandolph@howard.edu
202-806-7086

Recitals / Programs:

Benita Gladney
and
Saïs Kamalidiin
benita.gladney@howard.edu
202-806-7099

skamalidiin@howard.edu
202-806-7093

Technology Development:

Chinyerem Ohia cohia@howard.edu
202-806-7090


 

Click here to view the complete Department of Music faculty and staff directory.

Click here to search all Howard University directories.

 

X

Important
Announcements

04/10/18 Students applying for financial aid through the Department of Music should complete the Department's online application ASAP. Deadline for receipt is April 25, 2018.

Prospective students interested in attending the Department of Music in Fall 2018, but who missed the established audition dates, should contact Ms Shawn Hart in the Department's office ASAP.

The University Academic Calendar 2017-2018 has been updated! (rev. 01/15/2018)

Follow us!

Facebook iconTwitter iconInstagram icon

News of Note

Click a to read more.

Faculty and Alums Tapped for OSCARS For 3rd Year in a Row!

More news ...

Event Highlights

Many of our events are FREE AND OPEN TO THE PUBLIC!

UPCOMING EVENTS:

NEA 2018 Jazz Masterclass with DIANNE REEVES - Childers Recital Hall, Tue, April 17, 12:40pm FREE

HUJE featuring Special Guest Artist GARY BARTZ - Ira Aldridge Theater, Thu, April 19, 12:40pm FREE

String Students in Recital - Childers Recital Hall, Tue, April 24, 12:40pm FREE

Jazz Choir Concert featuring AFRO BLUE, SASSY and HU JAZZ SINGERS - Childers Recital Hall, Wed, April 25, 7:30pm FREE

Symphony Orchestra Spring Concert - Ira Aldridge Theater, Sun, April 29, 4pm FREE

________________

PAST EVENTS:

Taylor Young, Jazz Voice – Master of Music Qualifying Recital - Childers Recital Hall, Fri, March 30, 12pm FREE

Howard University Jazz Ensemble - Westminster Presbyterian Church, Fri, Mar 30, 6-9pm $

Logan Johnson – Senior Composition Recital - Childers Recital Hall, Fri, Mar 30, 7pm FREE

HUJE Easter Vigil - Peoples Congregational UCC, Sat, March 31, 4pm FREE

Smithsonian Jazz Masterworks Orchestra - Childers Recital Hall, Thu, April 5, 12:40pm FREE

Afro Blue in Concert - Kennedy Center Jazz Club, John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, Fri, April 6, 7 & 9 pm BOTH SHOWS SOLD OUT!

Panel Discussion: "INDEPENDENT: A Start to Finish Guide for Your Recording Project" - Childers Recital Hall, Tue, April 10, 10:10am FREE

Vocal Master Class with Soprano Lisa Gwyn Daltirus - Childers Recital Hall, Wed, April 11, 12pm FREE

VIEW ALL EVENTS