Picture of Founders Library Clocktower

Sitemap

grand piano graphic

Piano Renewal Initiative

Please consider supporting our Piano Renewal Initiative. If you have a high-quality piano in good condition that you are no longer using, or if you would like to purchase or contribute towards a new piano, please contact the Department of Music Office for more information regarding our specific needs.

Metropolitan Club donates Steinway M grand piano

Katz Foundation donates new Steinway recital piano

Leon Bates Masterclass and Mini-Concert officially launches Piano Renewal Initiative.

Photo of Geri Allen

 

 



CONTACT US


Department of Music Office:

Howard University Department of Music
Division of Fine Arts, College of Arts and Sciences
Lulu Vere Childers Hall
2455 Sixth Street NW Room 3004
Washington, DC 20059

(202) 806-7082 Telephone
(202) 806-9673 Fax

Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM


Chair:

Anthony W. Randolph awrandolph@howard.edu
202-806-7082

Administrative Assistant:

Shawn Hart shart@howard.edu
202-806-7082

Degree Program Coordinators

 

Theory and Composition:

Chinyerem Ohia cohia@howard.edu
202-806-7090

Jazz Studies - Instrumental:

Charlie Young, III cyoung@howard.edu
202-806-7872

Jazz Studies - Vocal:

Connaitre Miller conmiller@howard.edu
202-806-7097

Jazz Studies with Music Technology Emphasis:

Chris Royal groyal@howard.edu
202-806-7137

Music Education:

Benita Gladney  benita.gladney@howard.edu
202-806-7099

Music with Elective Studies in Business:

Valerie Eichelberger veichelberger@howard.edu
202-806-7095

Music History:

Matthew Franke matthew.franke@howard.edu
202-806-7088

Music Therapy:

Henrik Karlsson per.karlsson@howard.edu
202-806-7136

Performance - Instrumental:

Fred Irby, III firby@howard.edu
202-806-7066

Performance - Piano:

Karen Walwyn kwalwyn@howard.edu
202-806-7092

Performance - Voice:

Liana Valente liana.valente@howard.edu
202-806-7135

Supporting Area Coordinators

 

Office of Choirs and Bands:

Eric O. Poole, Director eric.poole@howard.edu
202-250-5266

Graduate Examinations:

Sais Kamalidiin skamalidiin@howard.edu
202-806-7093

Music Minors: 

Anthony Randolph awrandolph@howard.edu
202-806-7086

Recitals / Programs:

Benita Gladney
and
Saïs Kamalidiin
benita.gladney@howard.edu
202-806-7099

skamalidiin@howard.edu
202-806-7093

Technology Development:

Gerry Kunkel, Chair gkunkel@rcn.com
(202) 806-4022

 

Click here to view the complete Department of Music faculty and staff directory.

Click here to search all Howard University directories.

 

X

Important
Announcements

Welcome Class of 2023! Please read the 2019 New Student Orientation Booklet.

Follow us!

Facebook iconTwitter iconInstagram icon

News of Note

Formation of College of Fine Arts Postponed

8/6/2019. The University has revised the timeline for transforming the departments of Art, Theatre and Music, currently comprising The Division of Fine Arts in the College of Arts and Sciences, into a new College of Fine Arts. Read more...

Event Highlights

Many of our events are FREE AND OPEN TO THE PUBLIC!

VIEW ALL EVENTS

SELECT UPCOMING EVENTS:

Jazz Choir Auditions
Tuesday, August 20, 2:10-3:30 PM, Childers Recital Hall (Rm 3001) and Thursday, August 22, 2 PM-, Room 3009, Lulu Vere Childers Hall - OPEN TO ALL INTERESTED HU STUDENTS!

Jazz Choir Audition Flyer

________________

SELECT PAST EVENTS:



VIEW ALL EVENTS