Picture of Founders Library Clocktower

Sitemap

grand piano graphic

Piano Renewal Initiative

Please consider supporting our Piano Renewal Initiative. If you have a high-quality piano in good condition that you are no longer using, or if you would like to purchase or contribute towards a new piano, please contact the Department of Music Office for more information regarding our specific needs.

Metropolitan Club donates Steinway M grand piano

Katz Foundation donates new Steinway recital piano

Leon Bates Masterclass and Mini-Concert officially launches Piano Renewal Initiative.

Photo of Geri Allen

 

 



CONTACT US


Department of Music Office:

Howard University Department of Music
Division of Fine Arts, College of Arts and Sciences
Lulu Vere Childers Hall
2455 Sixth Street NW Room 3004
Washington, DC 20059

(202) 806-7082 Telephone
(202) 806-9673 Fax

Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM


Chair:

Anthony W. Randolph awrandolph@howard.edu
202-806-7082

Administrative Assistant:

Shawn Hart shart@howard.edu
202-806-7082

Degree Program Coordinators

 

Theory and Composition:

Chinyerem Ohia cohia@howard.edu
202-806-7090

Jazz Studies - Instrumental:

Charlie Young, III cyoung@howard.edu
202-806-7872

Jazz Studies - Vocal:

Connaitre Miller conmiller@howard.edu
202-806-7097

Jazz Studies with Music Technology Emphasis:

Chris Royal groyal@howard.edu
202-806-7137

Music Education:

Benita Gladney  benita.gladney@howard.edu
202-806-7099

Music with Elective Studies in Business:

Valerie Eichelberger veichelberger@howard.edu
202-806-7095

Music History:

Matthew Franke matthew.franke@howard.edu
202-806-7088

Music Therapy:

Henrik Karlsson per.karlsson@howard.edu
202-806-7136

Performance - Instrumental:

Fred Irby, III firby@howard.edu
202-806-7066

Performance - Piano:

Karen Walwyn kwalwyn@howard.edu
202-806-7092

Performance - Voice:

Liana Valente liana.valente@howard.edu
202-806-7135

Supporting Area Coordinators

 

Office of Choirs and Bands:

Eric O. Poole, Director eric.poole@howard.edu
202-250-5266

Graduate Studies:

Sais Kamalidiin skamalidiin@howard.edu
202-806-7093

Music Minors: 

Anthony Randolph awrandolph@howard.edu
202-806-7086

Recitals / Programs:

Benita Gladney
and
Saïs Kamalidiin
benita.gladney@howard.edu
202-806-7099

skamalidiin@howard.edu
202-806-7093

Technology Development:

Gerry Kunkel, Chair gkunkel@rcn.com
(202) 806-4022

 

Click here to view the complete Department of Music faculty and staff directory.

Click here to search all Howard University directories.

 

X

Important
Announcements

On-Campus Auditions for Fall 2019 Admission
were held on January 26 and March 2, 2019. Interested students who did not audition on those dates may request a special appointment by contacting the appropriate Performance Area Coordinator ASAP.

University Academic Calendar 2018-2019 (rev. 04/06/2018)

Follow us!

Facebook iconTwitter iconInstagram icon

News of Note

Event Highlights

Many of our events are FREE AND OPEN TO THE PUBLIC!

VIEW ALL EVENTS

SELECT UPCOMING EVENTS:

Arthur C. Dawkins, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus
Dr. Dawkins will introduce his new website that includes interviews with some of the major architects of modern jazz (Gillespie, Blakey, Roach).

Photo of Arthur C. Dawkins, Ph.D.He will also discuss the evolution of Jazz Education at Howard University.

Childers Recital Hall, Thu, Mar 7, 12:40pm FREE

________________

SELECT PAST EVENTS:

Special Guest Joseph Grimmer, NSO Bassoonist
featuring Joseph Grimmer, Bassoon and Sophia Kim Cook, piano accompaniment - Childers Recital Hall, Thu, Jan 17, 12:40pm FREE

Pic of Joseph Grimmer, bassoonist

Liana Valente, Soprano
Faculty member Liana Valente, soprano, appears with pianist Yuri Chayama - Childers Recital Hall, Thu, Feb 21, 12:40pm FREE

 

VIEW ALL EVENTS